The Honorable Michael R. Pence Vice President of the United States The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20500

Mr. Vice President:

On January 6, 2021, we watched in horror as the U.S. Congress was subject to a mob's raid and occupation of the Capitol, interrupting one of the most sacred traditions in our orderly transition of Constitutional power: the receipt and certification of the ballots cast by the states to the Electoral College. It was a scene framed by forcible illegal entry, assault on law enforcement officers, and senseless death. It was the direct and predictable result of a rally summoned by the President, at which he reinforced false claims of a rigged election that have been rejected or outright disproven by every public and judicial review of our November 2020 presidential election. It was a riot incited by the President's own words addressing that rally, and then excused by his words after it.

Lawyers have no special province when it comes to politics. We have our views, like all citizens, and we should act on them. But when it comes to defending our Constitution and our system of laws, we have a special duty and an exceptional perspective. In this moment, we must speak out, in devotion to these bedrock principles of our nation. As leaders of the legal community, we call for action.

The President has proven himself unfit for office, and a reckless and wanton threat to the Constitution that he pledged to preserve, protect, and defend. We implore you, individually or in combined effort with members of the Cabinet, to invoke Section 4 of the 25th Amendment to the Constitution, and to declare to the leaders of Congress that the President is unable to discharge the powers and duties of his office. We will continue to urge all members of the legal community to join in this call, and to stand up for the democratic institutions and traditions of our republic and the Constitution that gives them life and protection.

Respectfully,

Crowell & Moring LLP, by its Management Board
Philip T. Inglima, Chair
Gregory D. Call
Ellen M. Dwyer
Roter L. Euro

Peter J. Eyre Kirsten L. Nathanson Cheryl A. Falvey Jennifer S. Romano Daniel R. Forman Daniel A. Sasse

Amin Talati Wasserman LLP by

Ivan Wasserman, Managing Partner

Baker Thomas Oakley Greene PLLC by

Rex G. Baker IV, K. Gretchen Greene, Aaron S. Oakley, and Matthew Thomas

Brinks Gilson & Lione by Gustavo Siller, President

Coburn & Greenbaum PLLC by Barry Coburn

DLA Piper by

Frank Ryan, Chair

Farella Braun + Martel LLP by

Brian P. Donnelly, Managing Partner

Foley Hoag LLP by

Jeffrey D. Collins, Co-Managing Partner

Hanson Bridgett LLP by

Kristina Lawson, Managing Partner, and the firm's Management Committee James Nichols, Chief Operating Officer Laura Long, Chief Financial Officer

Jennifer Martinez, Partner and Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer Bradford Hise, Partner and General Counsel

Kendall Brill & Kelly LLP by

Richard B. Kendall, Managing Partner

Lewis Baach Kaufmann Middlemiss PLLC by

Eric L. Lewis, Senior Partner

Kenneth Reich Law, LLC by Kenneth A. Reich, Stephen J. Reich

McNerney & McAuliffe by Mark P. McAuliffe, Daniel P. McNerney

Phillips Nizer LLP by Marc Andrew Landis, Managing Partner

Shaheen & Gordon by
Mike Noonan, Managing Partner, William H. Shaheen, Steven M. Gordon
and with the unanimous support of the Directors

Sullivan & Worcester by Joel R. Carpenter, Managing Partner

Vandevert Trade Law PLC by Paul Vandevert, Principal

Wilson Williams LLC by William A. Wilson III

WTAII PLLC by

Warren T. Allen II, Ray D. McKenzie, and Gary A. Rubin

Signing in their individual capacities:

Dawn Elaine Bowie

Joseph A. Hayden, Jr., Pashman Stein Walder Hayden

David A. Vicinanzo, Nixon Peabody LLP

Individual partners of Crowell & Moring LLP:

Monique D. Almy

Jacinta L. Alves

William L. Anderson

Olivier N. Antoine

Deborah E. Arbabi

Lauren Aronson

Meagan T. Bachman

A. Xavier Baker

Jonathan M. Baker

Gary Baldwin

Trina Fairley Barlow

Troy A. Barsky

Amanda Shafer Berman

David B. Blair

Michael Boucher

John T. Brennan, Jr.

John Brew

Bryan Brewer

Caroline E. Brown

Nathaniel P. Bualat

Stephen M. Byers

Daniel T. Campbell

Lorraine M. Campos

Daniel Cannistra

Rebecca Baden Chaney

Kathy H. Chin

Adelicia R. Cliffe

Kathryn L. Clune

Christopher A. Cole

Harry P. Cohen

Honor Costello

Kelly T. Currie

Jodi G. Daniel

Maria Alejandra del-Cerro

Renée Delphin-Rodriguez

Larry F. Eisenstat

Claude v.S. Eley

Clifton S. Elgarten

David J. Ervin

Samuel E. Feigin

David Fischer

Christopher Flynn

Laura Foggan

Clayton S. Friedman

John H. Fuson

Kent A. Gardiner

Brian Paul Gearing

Sarah Gilbert

Alexis J. Gilman

David J. Ginsberg

Michelle Ann Gitlitz

Eileen M. Gleimer

Alan W.H. Gourley

Carlton Greene

T. Michael Guiffré

Robert A. Hager

Darek Hahn

Tom A. Hanusik

Astor H.L. Heaven

Harold J. Heltzer

Clifford B. Hendler

Susan M. Hoffman

Richard B. Holbrook, Jr.

Robert Holleyman

Michael Jacobs

Shawn R. Johnson

Andrew D. Kaplan

Mark A. Klapow

Thomas F. Koegel

Kevin B. Kroeker

Emily T. Kuwahara

Ian A. Laird

Elliott P. Laws

Warren Lehrenbaum

Anne Li

Michael W. Lieberman

Mana Lombardo

Thomas A. Lorenzen

Ilana Lubin

Natalie O. Ludaway

Jordan Ludwig

Olivia Lynch

Kristin J. Madigan

Laurel Malson

Stephanie Marcantonio

S. Starling Marshall

Stephen J. McBrady

John E. McCarthy Jr.

David McFarlane

Brian McGovern

Brian Tully McLaughlin

Richard McNeil

Stefan M. Meisner

Holly A. Melton

Matthew Melville

Sadina Montani

Scott J. Moore

Paul Mourning

John L. Murino

Jerome A. Murphy

Jason C. Murray

Michel C. Narganes

Stuart H. Newberger

Beatrice B. Nguyen

David W. O'Brien

Jon O'Connell

Amy L. O'Sullivan

Nicole Owren-Wiest

Mark D. Plevin

Paul Pollock

Joshua Pond

Aryeh S. Portnoy

Jefferey L. Poston

Andrew Pruitt

Preston L. Pugh

Gabriel M. Ramsey

Terry Rea

James J. Regan

Michael Robles

Tracy A. Roman

Todd D. Rosenberg

April Nelson Ross

George D. Ruttinger

Jeffery D. Sanok

Ira Saxe

Alexander H. Schaefer

David M. Schnorrenberg

Michael Shaheen

J. Daniel Sharp

David B. Siegel

Jeffrey L. Snyder

Chahira Solh

Rebecca L. Springer

James K. Stronski

James R. Stuart III

Eric Su

Mark Supko

Ryan C. Tisch

Luke van Houwelingen

Jarno Vanto

Anuj Vohra

Jennifer N. Waters

Robert Weekes

Scott L. Winkelman

Megan L. Wolf

Daniel W. Wolff

> David (Dj) Wolff Evan D. Wolff Nathanial J. Wood Michael Yaghi Deborah H. Yellin Clifford J. Zatz Daniel L. Zelenko Gail D. Zirkelbach

cc via email to:

Marc T. Short, Chief of Staff: marc.t.short@ovp.eop.gov
Zachary Bauer, Personal Aide to Mike Pence: zachary.c.bauer@ovp.eop.gov
Katie Rose Waldman Miller, Communications Director: katie.r.waldman@ovp.eop.gov
Devin Michael O'Malley, Press Secretary: devin.m.o'malley@ovp.eop.gov
Katherine Purucker, Deputy Assistant to the VP and Director of Administration: katherine.m.purucker@ovp.eop.gov